PROPHESY/PROPHECY

Jeremiah chapter 29 verse 11 – For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.”

I remember asking my Sunday school teacher how I could find out what the will of God was for my life. I had a certain love for the Lord Jesus and I was more than grateful for my salvation. I wanted to know more about how one could find out God’s perfect will for his or her life. My Sunday school teacher told me to read my Bible more and trust the Holy Spirit to lead and guide me by opening and closing areas in my life. My teacher emphasized the importance of having an attitude and a committed heart and a willingness to obey the Lord by allowing Him to direct you in every area of your life. You must surrender your life to Him completely.

Later in my life a minister pointed out about prophesy. Have you received a word of prophesy over your life. This minister stated he was having a particular serious problem that generated deep concern and doubt. To help him during this time the Lord reminded him of prophesy that was spoken over his life. This gave him the direction that he needed to pursue in answer to his dilemma. This proved to be the right steps to take.

As I thought about this I remember prophesy that was spoken to me years ago in my early twenties. I was taking a seminar. When I got the chance to speak to the seminar leader, I focused on the problems of the black community because of slavery. His response was, “Well slavery was just the white man’s sin.” Then he asked me my name. I told him, “Lucy.”  He said your name means light or bright. Maybe God wants you to be a light to your people as to the truth of His word. At first I felt he was just pushing me off; but my passion has grown even more over the years.  I want Godly answers to what we have had to face past, present, and future.

It is truly my burning desire to bring help, hope, and physical changes to our community for the better. I desire changes that cannot be taken away.

When the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob delivered the Jews from their Egyptian enslavement it was complete. As long as they were obedient to God they were protected and prospered.

This same God that promised to bless Abraham promised to bless all who are a blessing to Abraham and his descendants. I say this emphatically— no one in all the earth has blessed his descendants more than the African American community through our ancestral enslavement. They were never compensated for this. We who are their descendants have a claim before the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob who made the promise. It is my firm belief that He, above all, wants to make this promise a physical reality.

As usual your comments are welcome

Lucy,

Leave a Reply

