PASSIONATE ABOUT AFRICAN AMERICAN PROBLEMS AND SOLUTIONS

slavery-today

OVER 400 YEARS AND CLIMBING!

Jesus saith unto them, My meat is to do the will of him that sent me, and to finish his work.

St. John 4:34

  And there are also many other things which Jesus did, the which, if they should be written every one, I suppose that even the world itself could not contain the books that should be written. Amen.

St. John 21:25

____________________

What are you passionate about in your life?  What do you care about to the point that you focus on it day and night? What do you want to accomplish in your lifetime? What are you willing to commit to fervently for the rest of your life to experience its success?

Growing up in the Payne home was not a good experience.  My parents argued and fought all the time.  We were very poor and our home was full of sickness.  I had Asthma very badly.  It was hard for my father to find and keep employment.  We were on Welfare, which was degrading and dehumanizing.

My father was a very abusive man to his children and his wife. On top of all this we experienced the destruction of our home by fire.  Even now when I think of this I get terribly emotional.  My parents were not at home and our lives were saved by my oldest sister. She was not asleep and she got all of us safely out of the house.

In the midst of all of this, there was one thing my parents made all of their children do—go to church and school.  No matter how raggedy our clothes were or how many holes were in our shoes, we had to go. Church and school were mandatory.

I loved the Bible stories about Jesus and how much He loved me in spite of everything.  Now I understand why the Gospel is supposed to be preached to the poor and downtrodden. The Gospel brings about a supernatural hope.  It creates faith over what you see, feel, hear or experience. It brings about an honest and true belief in your heart and imagination that all things are attainable no matter your situation.

Even now, as I look at the plight that we as African Americans continually face, I am convinced that our physical, emotional, spiritual, and economic salvation have already been accomplished in Jesus.  He has already made specific arrangements for all our needs according to His promise found in Genesis 12:3. But, like any benefit we must learn how to receive what has already been provided and use it wisely for our individual and collective betterment.

When the God of eternity made this promise to Abraham, I believe He also had our African American community in mind.  He knew that our enslavement would bring about enormous prosperity to the Jews and the rest of the world via this country. As I look at the various issues facing our community my passionate desire is to see this promise materialize in our everyday lives. 

Your comments are welcome.

Lucy Payne

Lucy

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

