HAPPY NEW YEAR!

happy-new-year_m1scbnu__l

And David was greatly distressed; for the people spake of stoning him, because the soul of all the people was grieved, every man for his sons and for his daughters: but David encouraged himself in the Lord his God.

I Samuel 30:6

 Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted within me? hope in God: for I shall yet praise him, who is the health of my countenance, and my God.

Psalms 43:5

New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day can be a very hard and trying time. While it is good to know that you have been granted another year on God’s calendar, it can render you severely depressed if you have had a very hard and trying year prior to the new one.  So many times you just cannot see yourself enduring another year or you just do not have strength of mind to proceed further.

2016 was a very trying time for the American people as a whole because it was a presidential election year.  In my opinion all of the candidates were substandard and did not have answers to the problems that we as a nation are facing. Ultimately, and in my opinion, we had to make a choice between the lowest form of political filth and greed. Voters had to take courage and choose between the lesser of two evils.  Many decided not to participate at all. All are wondering what the next four years will produce under this new administration.  This concern on top of any other personal burdens is enough to bring about a deep depression.

I remember some time ago when I felt overwhelmed and I happened to mentioned it in a passing conversation.  I will never forget the response I received because the person knew that I believed in Jesus and had shared my faith and testimony openly. I was severely raked over the coals. What’s wrong with the faith that you say you have in Jesus. You say you are born again and have the Holy Ghost. You say Jesus can take care of you. Well what’s wrong now? Being depressed and now having to deal with this lack of compassion brings about a deep feeling of guilt and failure as a Christian on top of your depression. I believe that is why we have so many passive Christians. Instead of making disciples of all nations we keep our Savior personal.

Anyway for New Year’s I decided to reflect on all the positives that happened in 2016. This made me feel a little better. I then began to think of some goals that I wanted to accomplish for 2017. I started to come up with a plan in order to accomplish these goals. During this time two scriptures came to mind about facing depression. David and his men came back home and found that their wives and children had been carried off by the enemy. They had just come from fighting one battle and were too severely exhausted to go any further. David’s men wanted to kill him because of this situation. The scripture pointed out that DAVID DID NOT LOOK TO ANY MAN FOR HELP BUT HE ENCOURAGED HIMSELF IN THE LORD HIS GOD. HE ENQUIRED OF GOD FOR COUNSEL AS TO A PLAN OF ACTION. Following God’s leading David took as many men that he could and they were empowered to get all their families back and more. David not only returned everything to each man but he also shared equally all that was gained. He experienced depression and anxiety but instead of relying on man he embraced God even more than before.

As I meditated on these two scriptures and started to read the Bible I began to take heart. I began to think about the verse of scripture that I have been so passionate about: And I will bless them that bless thee, and curse him that curseth thee: and in thee shall all families of the earth be blessed. (Genesis 12:3). This passage contains a Godly promise that I believe holds the answer to many of the problems we as African Americans face in this country.  Just as David encouraged himself in God and obtained the victory needed. I believe this promise makes this same God available to us for victory. Happy New Year!

Your comments are welcome.

Lucy

Lucy Payne

Leave a Reply

