CHRISTMAS CELEBRATION IN RETROSPECT

And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord.

~~Luke 2:10-11

christmas decoration

By the time Christmas 2016 came I found myself in a much better spirit.  The more I meditate on this scripture it becomes overwhelmingly apparent that we need the Savior.  Even when we have done our best in life there is always a feeling of insufficiency or lack. Something always seems to be missing. There is an emptiness that seems to stay with you. At least this is my experience.

I was very young when I reached out to Jesus for His salvation. I believe I was about 8 or 9 years old.  Anyway, putting my childlike faith and trust in the fact that Jesus came into this world to be my Savior I came to the front of my church and accepted Jesus as my own personal Savior from my sin nature and also the fact that I found myself practicing sin as a result. I asked Him to become the Lord or Boss of my entire life. I know this does not mean that I am a perfect Christian; but I am trusting in Jesus’ righteousness and His perfection.

Even now 60 years later as I look back on my life I can say Jesus has been faithful to me, for me, and through me. I am thankful that I committed my life to Him at a young age. He has kept me out of the many pitfalls that so many young people get trapped in and as a result mess up their lives.

I enjoyed this Christmas because I spent a lot of time reflecting on what I was able to accomplish because of the Lord Jesus Christ. I especially thank Him because I still have hope for my life in Him. In essence Jesus was born to save me from my sin and give me a future hope.

This is why that promise He made to Abraham means so much to me. We as African Americans have a lively hope in this one promise.

Your comments are welcome.

Lucy

Lucy Payne

Leave a Reply

