THE THANKSGIVING HOLIDAY IN RETROSPECT

thanksgiving-dinner-image2

“In everything give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”

(I Thessalonians 5:18)

 “…neither were [they] thankful…”

(Romans 1:21)

This year my Thanksgiving celebration seemed very hard and trying.  I went through the motions of holiday preparation but my spirit was very heavy and full of deep future concerns. When I looked on Facebook and other social medias I could tell that I was not the only one feeling this way.

Cares comes to all of us especially in the African American community.  It seems like before you can take care of one thing successfully another pops up.  We as a community can never really exhale.  We seem to function on continual shortness of breath. Yes, somehow we continue to survive.  I don’t know about you but I am tired of just surviving.  In the midst of it all I desire to be victorious even if everything is against me. Let me be for myself by doing what is necessary to keep an atmosphere of success mentally and emotionally regardless of the situation.

The above scripture is something that God pointed out to me. “In everything give thanks for this is the will of God…”  Many times I find myself saying “Thank you” anyway. It’s not easy; and it does not mean your situation changes immediately. But it seems to put some control back in my hands or it may give me a thought on how to pray about my situation.

Many times I reflect on just how the slaves were able to endure over four hundred years of rigor. They had to create their own hope mentally and emotionally with some type of positive expectation.  If they could do this we should be able to be overcomers. I am sure God has granted us this ability also. I still see this one promise as our avenue of blessing.  We must learn the proper way of drawing from this account, which God has already prepared for the African American community.  He is a God who keeps His word. So, let’s cheer up!

Your comments are welcome

Lucy Payne

Lucy

Leave a Reply

