THE DAY AFTER

depressed-person-in-silhouette

“Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted within me? hope in God: for I shall yet praise him, who is the health of my countenance, and my God.”

This election has been a horrible experience for all Americans.  I was looking on Facebook and many have equated the entire campaign and election to how we as a nation felt on 9/11.  The only thing that is different is the date is now 11/9.   To me 9/11 was a wakeup call for all of us as Americans.  I remember going into work that morning.  Nearly everyone in the office had strange looks on their faces.  My worker said a plane just accidentally flew into one of the twin towers in New York City.  She had a small television in her office and other workers were standing around watching.  I remember going over to her desk.  I looked at the television and saw a second plane fly into the second tower.  I remember saying that is not an accident this act was deliberate. My initial reaction to all of this was fear for my children whom I had just dropped off at school.  Were they in harm’s way? Should I leave work and get them out of school? How much food and water do I have at home? Do I need some dog food for Trixie and Raoul? How much money do I have in the bank? Should I draw it all out and let my bills bounce? How much charcoal do I have at home so that I can cook outdoors if the need arises due to a nationwide energy failure? What about candles or lanterns used for outdoors?  Finally, should I rush out a buy a gun to protect my family although I am fearful of guns? Which is the lesser of the two evils?

I again experienced this same fear and rampant emotionalism on 11/9 the day after the election. Even now I still deep concern.  I have noticed that many in the African American community who voted for this president-elect have had to justify why they cast such a vote knowing the type of person the president-elect appeared to be from his campaign. Many of these have been branded as enemies or betrayers within our ranks. I also found out that the other candidate received the most popular votes; more than the president-elect.  Then, too, we have found out that a large number of votes were suppressed or not counted, and there were threats to voters by many of the hate groups.  Knowing the so-called friendship that this president-elect has with the Russian leader sometimes you wonder did he secretly have them hack our election computer system in his favor.  After all it was stated he made a jester for them to hack our system to find the lost emails of his opponent during his campaign.  It does make you wonder what the real deal is; and where do you go from here or what can you do about this mess.

It is interesting to note that for weeks after 9/11 the churches all over the nation were packed.  Recently on Facebook everyone seemed to be talking about relying on God due to the 11/9 after the election results.  All you saw on Facebook was God is still in control.  It is good that we do know where to turn. Needless, to say there is still so much discouragement and depression in the African American community. When you consider what we have had to face or have been continually subjected to, no matter who’s in office you can understand our deep concern and our vulnerability.

One of the things I love about the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob is that no matter how hopeless the situation or how desperate the need He will and has always founded a means of deliverance for His people.  In fact when you read about the enslavement of the Jewish people in Egypt God told Abraham this would happen and that He, their God would deliver them.  He also promised to bless those who blessed His people. He is the God of His word no matter what and He has the power to deliver.

Your comments are always welcome.

Lucy

Lucy Payne

Leave a Reply

