BIRTHDAY/VACATION

“And he [Jesus] said unto them, Come ye yourselves apart into a desert place, and rest a while…” (Mark 6:31)

 

46757084-birthday-cake-pic

September is my birthday month.  Feeling tired for some time I decided to take a break from EVERYTHING.  I went to Durham, North Carolina for a two day healing conference. It has been a long time since I have been on a plane— approximately sixteen years. It was an interesting experience to see how the entire flying procedure has changed. Anyway, I am happy to report that I made it through that entire adventure coming and going. I enjoyed the conference very much. I also made new friends who I found out are deeply committed to the claims of Jesus Christ.  One in particular gave me a surprise birthday gift. giftbox I was so overwhelmed with joy and love. We did exchange email addresses. Needless to say, this was the highlight of my trip. I especially enjoyed my motel room. I found myself resting more, mainly due to the absence of my grandchildren jumping in my bed.

I feel everything would have continued on a happy note if I had not turned on the television in my room. Again, I was brought back to the reality of the ills that black people face, and that is the killing of our young men by the police.  Charlotte, North Carolina was in an uproar with rioting and demonstrations over a recent shooting presently under investigation.

Civil Rights Activist and Comedian Mr. Dick Gregory made a very interesting statement. He said when you think of all the black policemen in our nation thousands of black policemen and yet we do not hear of them shooting a white person. We as black people are plagued with this problem all over the nation by policemen shooting black people, in particular black males. Needless to say my heart became troubled again while enjoying my mini vacation. 

It is still my firm belief that our answer to our many problems that we face as African Americans descendants of slaves can only be resolved supernaturally. Many of the problems we face remind me of the Egyptian bondage faced by the descendants of Abraham.  Beforehand, God told Abraham about this stating He would have to deliver them from this bondage. It is the same with us here in America. The God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob will have to bring about our deliverance. In fact, I believe He has already accomplished this. We, however, must learn how to appropriate what He has already accomplished for us based entirely on His promise and grace.

I returned from my vacation reaffirming my commitment to learn just how to appropriate God’s blessing for the benefit of my people.

Your comments are welcome.

Lucy Payne

 

Leave a Reply

